Institute

of

African Studies

TGCL

Tanzanian-German Centre for Eastern African Legal Studies

The “Tanzanian-German Centre for Eastern African Legal Studies” (TGCL) has been established in 2008 at the Faculty of Law, University of Dar es Salaam, Tanzania, in close cooperation with the University of Bayreuth.

The TGCL offers aspiring lawyers and law students from the Partner States of the East African Community (Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda) a structured Master of Laws (LLM) and PhD study programme with the goal of qualifying them for leading positions in the region. Thereby, the centre plays an important role in the qualification of future leaders in East Africa.

The programme is conducted at the University of Dar es Salaam School of Law, in close cooperation with the Institute of African Studies and the Faculty of Law, Business Administration and Economics, University of Bayreuth. The TGCL is one of five centres of excellence established in Africa under the framework of the programme “African Excellence – Fachzentren zur Eliteförderung”, funded by the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) and the German Foreign Office.

According to its regional focus, the programme concentrates on regional integration law, especially considering the law of the East African Community and of its Partner States. Additional courses in leadership skills, business administration and economics as well as in German language supplement the programme of the TGCL. Furthermore, the centre regularly offers a summer school in Bayreuth and study trips within the East African Community for its students.

The TGCL grants full or partial scholarships which also cover the study fees. Up to now, 40 LLM and five PhD students have successfully completed the programme. Currently, the centre educates ten LLM and ten PhD students.

Institut

für

Afrikastudien

TGCL

Tanzanian-German Centre for Eastern African Legal Studies

Das Tansanisch-deutsche Fachzentrum für Rechtswissenschaft (Tanzanian-German Centre for Eastern African Legal Studies, TGCL) an der School of Law der Universität Dar es Salaam, Tansania, wurde 2008 in enger Kooperation mit der Universität Bayreuth gegründet.

Das TGCL bietet herausragenden Juristinnen und Juristen aus den Partnerstaaten der Ostafrikanischen Gemeinschaft (Burundi, Kenia, Ruanda, Tansania und Uganda) strukturierte Master (LLM)- und Doktorandenprogramme (PhD). Damit spielt das Fachzentrum eine wichtige Rolle in der Ausbildung künftiger Führungseliten in Ostafrika.

Das Programm wird an der School of Law der Universität Dar es Salaam in enger Kooperation mit dem Institut für Afrikastudien sowie der Rechts- und Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Universität Bayreuth durchgeführt. Das TGCL ist eines von fünf im Rahmen der „Aktion Afrika – Fachzentren zur Eliteförderung“ durch das Auswärtige Amt über den DAAD geförderten Fachzentren in Afrika.

Der regionalen Ausrichtung entsprechend befasst sich das Studienprogramm mit dem Recht der regionalen Integration unter besonderer Berücksichtigung des Rechts der Ostafrikanischen Gemeinschaft und ihrer Mitgliedsstaaten. Zugleich vermittelt das TGCL seinen Studierenden durch anspruchsvolle Kurse Führungskompetenzen, deutsche Sprachkenntnisse und wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Kenntnisse. Außerdem nehmen die Studierenden an der regelmäßig stattfindenden Sommeruniversität in Bayreuth sowie an Fachexkursionen innerhalb der Ostafrikanischen Gemeinschaft teil.

Das Fachzentrum gewährt seinen Studierenden neben der Übernahme der Studiengebühren Teil- beziehungsweise Vollstipendien. Bisher haben 40 LLM-Studierende und fünf PhD-Studierende das Programm absolviert; darüber hinaus nehmen zehn LLM- und zehn PhD-Studierende am derzeit laufenden Ausbildungsprogramm teil.