Institute

of

African Studies

Knowledge, communication and boundaries

In this area, there are research projects in relation to the manifold forms of mobility and translocality of Africa, the cultural boundaries and identities being transgressed and also formed, and the creative forms of expression of such processes in various types of media.

Below are some example projects, providing an insight into the IAS research activity in this area.

Football migration – a Dream of Europe

Red Bull Academy - Ungruhe HPRed Bull Academy (Photo: Christian Ungruhe)

For a couple of years, football has provided young Africans with the possibility of going to Europe in order to achieve a better standard of living. Media reports exclusively focus on problematic implications in this context: the accusation of human trafficking, the exploitation of the local game and the danger of racist attacks at the destinations. Yet, little is known about the actors’ perspective in the process of footballmigration. We aim at exploring the formation, transfer and articulation of football-related knowledge by participant observation among street footballers and young talents in football academies, biographical interviews with African professional and amateur players in Germany and expert interviews with player agents, coaches and football functionaries. In this context, a key objective is to include male and female perspectives.

More information here

Climate Change, Environmental Changes and Migration

Logo - Migration Climate and Enviroment

This is an interdisciplinary research project on the linkages between environmental change and migration in Mali and Senegal. Politicians and scientists increasingly emphasise climate change as one of the major threats to sustainable human livelihoods in Africa and predict massive population movements as a response to a growing number of extreme events such as droughts, increasing water scarcity, a detrimental decrease of food production, changing disease patterns and loss of biodiversity. However, the environmental refugee concept is highly problematic due to geodeterministic stereotyping, terminological ambiguity and political instrumentalisation. Identifying environmental change as the primary cause of these movements is extremely difficult. Therefore, the project faces the challenge to balance the multiple factors causing migration in order to understand its internal logics and contextualise it theoretically. Furthermore, it aims at providing a basis for the formulation of appropriate analyses enabling us to predict future migrations in an interdisciplinary approach bringing together political scientists, sociologists, demographers, geographers and natural scientists.

More information here

Moroccan music festivals

Festivals Driss HP(Photo: Driss el Maarouf)

Music festivals in Morocco have grown to become the country’s meta-artistic flagships. Scattered in geography and time, festivals punctuate the life calendar of cities and citizens, artistically inspire cross-cultural situations, and lead to trans-border encounters and economic opportunities. Music festivals define cities in the same manner that cities define festivals. The study of the three Moroccan music spectacles, namely the Mawazine festival (Rabat), the Gnawa festival (Essouira) and the Fez festival of world sacred music (Fez) is an effort to tackle the question of “festivalisation” in Morocco. These festivals, above all, are sites of struggles between not only the local and the global, the traditional and the modern, the national and the trans-national, but also between the margins and the centre, the urban and the rural, the authentic and the phony, the sacred and profane. Moroccan music festivals grow into “becoming something else” (Deleuze). Today, Moroccan festivals have shifted from being typically local celebrations (moussems) towards becoming global manifestations, throwing urban spaces, natives, tourists, localities and identities into a confusing and ambiguous vortex. They are no longer discrete and isolated events, but are now rationally produced and managed by bureaucratic organisations responsible for musical affairs.

More information here

Institut

für

Afrikastudien

Wissen, Kommunikation und Grenzen

In diesem Bereich gibt es Forschungsprojekte zu den vielfältigen Formen der Mobilität und Translokalität Afrikas; zu den kulturellen Grenzen und Identitäten, die dabei überschritten, aber auch gebildet werden, und zu den kreativen Ausdrucksformen dieser Prozesse in unterschiedlichen Medien.

Im Folgenden werden beispielhaft einige Projekte vorgestellt, die einen Einblick in die Forschungen am IAS zu diesem Themenschwerpunkt geben können.

Fußballmigration – ein Traum von Europa

Red Bull Academy - Ungruhe HP
Red Bull Academy (Foto: Christian Ungruhe)

Bereits seit einigen Jahren bietet Fußballspielen jungen Afrikanern die Möglichkeit, um einer besseren Lebensperspektive willen nach Europa zu migrieren. Medienberichte thematisieren in diesem Kontext vor allem problematische Auswirkungen dieses Traums: Vorwürfe von Menschenhandel, die Ausbeutung des afrikanischen Fußballs sowie rassistische Anfeindungen gegenüber afrikanischen Spielern in Europa. Die Perspektive der Fußballer selbst wird in den Berichten und Studien aber nur selten beleuchtet. Der Fokus der Forschung liegt daher auf Untersuchungen zur Handlungsfähigkeit der Fußballer im Migrationsprozess. Teilnehmende Beobachtungen unter Straßenfußballern und jungen Talenten in Fußballakademien, biographische Interviews mit afrikanischen Profi- und Amateurspielern in Deutschland sowie Experteninterviews mit Spieleragenten, Trainern und Funktionären sollen Aufschlüsse über die Generierung, Anwendung und Perzeption fußballspezifischen und fußballmigrationsspezifischen Wissens geben. Dabei werden männliche und weibliche Perspektiven von Fußballmigrationen untersucht.

Mehr Informationen hier

Klimawandel, Umweltveränderungen und Migration

Logo - Migration Climate and Enviroment

Dieses interdisziplinäre Forschungsprojekt beschäftigt sich mit dem Umweltwandel und Migration in Mali und Senegal. Politiker und Wissenschaftler bezeichnen den Klimawandel als eine der größten Bedrohungen für menschliche Entwicklung in Afrika und sagen massive Bevölkerungsbewegungen als Folge einer zunehmenden Zahl von Extremereignissen wie Dürren, von zunehmender Wasserknappheit, Abnahme der Nahrungsmittelproduktion und Verlust an Biodiversität voraus. Dabei ist das Konstrukt der „Umweltflucht“ aufgrund des ihm inhärenten Geodeterminismus, der konzeptionellen Unklarheiten und politischen Instrumentalisierungen höchst problematisch. Umweltveränderungen als Hauptursache für Migration zu identifizieren ist praktisch unmöglich. Daher beschäftigt sich das Forschungsprojekt mit den multiplen Ursachen von Migration im Sahel um die internen Logiken zu verstehen und Migrationsbewegungen theoretisch zu kontextualisieren.

Mehr Informationen hier

Marokkanische Musik-Festivals

Festivals Driss HP
(Foto: Driss el Maarouf)

In Marokko haben Musikfestivals derart an Bedeutung gewonnen, dass sie sich zum meta-artistischen Aushängeschild des Landes entwickeln. Die Festivals finden zu sehr unterschiedlichen Zeiten und an unterschiedlichen Orten statt. Sie unterbrechen den normalen Lebensrhythmus der Städte und Städter, lassen kunstvoll transkulturelle Situationen entstehen, führen zu grenzerweiternden Begegnungen und wirtschaftlichen Möglichkeiten. Musikfestivals bestimmen die Städte in der gleichen Art und Weise, wie die Städte selbst das Festival formen. Die Untersuchung von drei marokkanischen Musikereignissen, dem Mawazine-Festival (Rabat), dem Gnawa-Festival (Essouira) und dem Fez-Festival für sakrale Weltmusik (Fez), ist ein Versuch, sich mit der Frage der zunehmenden „Festivalisierung“ in Marokko zu beschäftigen. Die Festivals sind vor allem ein Zeichen für den Kampf, der nicht nur zwischen lokal und global, zwischen traditionell und modern, zwischen national und trans-national, sondern auch zwischen Peripherie und Zentrum, dem Urbanen und dem Urtümlichen, dem Authentischem und der Fälschung, dem Geistlichen und dem Weltlichen besteht. Auf jeden Fall entwickeln sich die marokkanischen Festivals „zu einem werdenden Anderen“ (Deleuze). Heute haben sich die marokkanischen Festivals von der typischen lokalen Feierlichkeit (moussems) zu globalen Kundgebungen entwickelt, reißen urbane Räume, Einheimische, Ortschaften und Identitäten durcheinander in einen verwirrenden und ambivalenten Strudel. Sie sind keine isolierten Events, sie werden nun rational produziert und von bürokratischen Organisationen gemanagt, die für die musischen Belange zuständig sind.

Mehr Informationen hier