Institute

of

African Studies

Islamic Studies

Islamic Studies is not a religious subject and in fact has little to do with classical Islamic Studies as understood by Muslims for centuries as the basis for studying their religion. Islamic studies means the study of Islamic religion and culture. It investigates the way in which the religion and culture of Islam influence specific societies, it investigates the way Islam is reflected in philosophy, law, literature, art and architecture; and it investigates the way Islam affects social, economic and political relations. Islamic studies does not have any methodology of its own. Instead, it uses the methodology of the appropriate discipline, according to the specialisation. This means philology, history, law, religion, literature studies, and political and social sciences. In other words, interdisciplinarity is one of Islamic studies main characteristics. Beside these academic disciplines Islamic studies also deals with an extremely wide geographical range.

Bayreuth University is the only German University where Islamic studies deals exclusively with Islam and / or Muslim societies in Africa. Since its very existence the Chair of Islamic Studies at Bayreuth University has headed research projects dealing with Islamic law, contemporary Islamic movements, gender questions, education, Sufism, Islamic endowment system (waqf) and philology. All these different fields and traditions of research have been connected to Islam / Muslims in Africa.

Currently Islamic studies at Bayreuth University is involved in the following research projects:

  • Islamic law in Africa, i.e. analysis of historical Islamic manuscripts from Mauritania; change and continuity of Islamic Law in Zanzibar; contemporary debates on the re-implementation of Islamic law in Northern Nigeria. Chair of "Islamic Studies"
  • Sharia debates and their perception by Christians and Muslims in selected African countries (in close cooperation with the Chairs of Religious Study I and Anthropology at Bayreuth University) see: www.sharia-in-africa.net

Institut

für

Afrikastudien

Islamwissenschaft

Die Islamwissenschaft ist kein religiöses Studienfach und hat somit nur wenig damit zu tun, wie Muslime die klassischen Islamwissenschaften verstehen, die seit Jahrhunderten die Grundlagen für das Studium ihrer Religion bilden. Sie untersucht vielmehr den Einfluss der islamischen Religion und Kultur auf bestimmte Gesellschaften, sie untersucht den Niederschlag des Islam in Philosophie, Recht, Literatur, Kunst und Architektur des Weiteren untersucht sie den Einfluss des Islam auf gesellschaftliche, wirtschaftliche und politische Beziehungen. Sie verfügt über keine eigene Methodenlehre. Entsprechend der Spezialisierung eignet sie sich die Methoden anderer Disziplinen an, wie die der Philologie, der Geschichts-, Rechts-, Literatur-, Politik- und Sozialwissenschaft. Anders ausgedrückt: Interdisziplinarität ist eine der Hauptkennzeichen der Islamwissenschaft. Neben dieser Vielzahl akademischer Disziplinen befasst sich die Islamwissenschaft auch mit einem extrem weit gefassten geographischen Gebiet.

Die Universität Bayreuth ist die einzige deutsche Universität, an der die Islamwissenschaft sich ausschließlich mit Islam und / oder muslimischen Gesellschaften in Afrika beschäftigt. Der Lehrstuhl für Islamwissenschaft an der Universität Bayreuth befasste sich seit seiner Gründung mit Forschungsprojekten zu den Themen islamisches Recht, zeitgenössische islamische Bewegungen, Gender-Fragen, Bildungswesen, Sufismus, islamisches Stiftungswesen (waqf) und Philologie.

Gegenwärtig ist die Islamwissenschaft an der Universität Bayreuth an folgenden Forschungsprojekten beteiligt:

  • Islamisches Recht in Afrika, d.h. die Analyse historischer islamischer aus Mauretanien stammender Manuskripte, Wandel und Kontinuität des islamischen Rechts in Sansibar sowie zeitgenössische Debatten über die Wiedereinführung des islamischen Rechts in Nordnigeria. Lehrstuhl für Islamwissenschaft
  • Scharia Debatten und ihre Perzeption bei Christen und Muslimen in ausgewählten afrikanischen Ländern (in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den Lehrstühlen für Religionswissenschaft I und Ethnologie an der Universität Bayreuth) siehe: www.sharia-in-africa.net