Institute

of

African Studies

Linguistics

Africa-related linguistic research at the University of Bayreuth covers the following language areas:

  • African linguistics
  • English linguistics
  • Arabic linguistics
  • Romance and general linguistics

In linguistic research, these fields concertedly pursue corpus-based approaches and the integration of language communities’ social and cultural contexts. That is, they focus on the compilation and analysis of comprehensive text corpora as well as on language in use and attitudes to language in various social settings. The disciplines tangibly cooperate in teaching and research, e.g. within the faculty’s lecture series “Linguistic Colloquium”.  Nevertheless, the fields retain a distinct identity through their particular research objects and respective research landscapes briefly described below.

African Linguistics

African Linguistics deals with languages that have scarcely – or even never – been properly described. In these cases, it is the objective to generate grammar scripts and dictionaries vital among others for the development of orthographies and teaching material. Field research aims not only to record and analyse linguistic data in the – often multi-lingual – social setting, but also to compile corpora of fictional and non-fictional texts that cover a broad and diverse range. Furthermore, the historical and comparative approach to language –  including, if possible, the analysis of historical texts –  is an important research tradition in African Linguistics in Germany.

English Linguistics

English Linguistics is interested in the varieties of English spoken in Africa, as well as English-based contact languages in Africa and in the African diaspora. The main research areas are:

  • Status, function and use of English in multilingual contexts
  • Description and analysis of African varieties of English
  • The use of English in situative contexts and in verbal interaction
  • Development of English-based contact languages (pidgins and creoles) in Africa and in the African diaspora
  • Representation of diaspora identities in the context of various social and verbal practices (e.g. forms of address, realization of specific speech acts)

Arabic Linguistics

Arabic Linguistics at Bayreuth is interested in the African varieties of Arabic, focusing especially on the following areas:

  • The influence of neighbouring "African" languages (language contact)
  • The effects of multilingualism, or language variation (sociolinguistics)
  • The relations between different dialects (dialectology)
  • The development of Arabic-based pidgins and creoles
  • The history of Arabic from an African perspective and its relationship to the history of Arabic in general (historical linguistics)

Romance and General Linguistics

Romance Linguistics is concerned with the varieties of French in sub-Saharan Africa which are studied in different contexts, situations and areas, for instance in the media (especially radio, TV, internet) and in contexts involving a transfer of knowledge (including medical communication and sensitization campaigns). Based on theoretical concepts coming from sociolinguistics, pragmatics and interaction analysis research is mainly focused on the use of French in verbal interactions. Given the multilingualism of most francophone African states issues of cultural and language contact, frequently examined from a comparative perspective, are also playing an important role.

Institut

für

Afrikastudien

Linguistik

Folgende linguistische Fächer forschen an der Universität Bayreuth mit Afrikabezug:

  • Afrikanische Sprachwissenschaft
  • Anglistische Sprachwissenschaft
  • Arabistik
  • Romanische und Allgemeine Sprachwissenschaft

Die Forschungsansätze der in der Linguistik vertretenen Fächer weisen Gemeinsamkeiten in der Einbeziehung des sozialen und kulturellen Umfelds der jeweiligen Sprachgemeinschaft sowie in der korpusbasierten Herangehensweise auf, d.h. es geht ihnen um den Aufbau und die Analyse möglichst umfangreicher Textkorpora sowie die Untersuchung von Sprachgebrauch und Spracheinstellungen in verschiedenen gesellschaftlichen Bereichen. Die Fächer kooperieren in Lehre und Forschung. Sichtbarer Ausdruck dessen ist u.a. das "Linguistische Kolloquium" der Fakultät. Unterschiede ergeben sich aus den vielfältigen Objektbereichen und der Forschungslage der einzelnen Fächer, die im Folgenden kurz dargestellt werden.

Afrikanische Sprachwissenschaft

Die Afrikanistik beschäftigt sich u.a. mit Sprachen, die bisher noch gar nicht oder kaum beschrieben wurden. In diesen Fällen geht es darum, grammatische Beschreibungen und Wörterbücher zu erstellen, die für die Entwicklung von Orthographien und Lehrmitteln in diesen Sprachen unabdingbar sind. In der Feldforschung geht es neben der Aufnahme und Auswertung von Sprachdaten im sozialen und kulturellen – häufig mehrsprachigen – Umfeld immer auch um die Sammlung möglichst unterschiedlicher Texte fiktionaler und nichtfiktionaler Natur. Eine wichtige Tradition afrikanistischer Forschung in Deutschland ist darüber hinaus die historische Herangehensweise durch Sprachvergleichung und nach Möglichkeit durch die Analyse historischer Texte.

Anglistische Sprachwissenschaft

Die Anglistik interessiert sich für die Varietäten des Englischen in Afrika und für englisch-basierte Kontaktsprachen in Afrika und der afrikanischen Diaspora. Insbesondere geht es hierbei um folgende Schwerpunkte:

  • Status, Funktion und Verwendung des Englischen im multilingualen Kontext
  • Beschreibung und Analyse afrikanischer Varietäten des Englischen
  • Verwendung des Englischen im situativen Kontext und in der verbalen Interaktion
  • Entwicklung von englisch-basierten Kontaktsprachen (Pidgin- und Kreolsprachen) in Afrika und der afrikanischen Diaspora
  • Repräsentation von Diasporaidentitäten im Kontext verschiedener sozialer und verbaler Praktiken (z.B. Anredeformen, Realisierung von spezifischen Sprechakten)

Arabistik

Die Arabistik in Bayreuth interessiert sich vor allem für die afrikanischen Arabisch-Varietäten, wobei es um folgende Fragen geht:

  • die Einflüsse benachbarter "afrikanischer" Sprachen (Sprachkontaktlinguistik)
  • die Mehrsprachigkeit von Sprechern, bzw. Sprachvariation (Soziolinguistik)
  • die Beziehungen zwischen unterschiedlichen Dialekten (Dialektologie)
  • die Entwicklung von arabisch-basierten Pidgin und Kreolsprachen
  • die Geschichte des Arabischen aus einer afrikanischen Perspektive und deren Beziehung zur weiteren arabischen Sprachgeschichte (historische Linguistik)

Romanische und Allgemeine Sprachwissenschaft

Die Romanistik beschäftigt sich mit den Ausprägungen (Varietäten) des Französischen im sub-saharischen Afrika und untersucht diese in verschiedenen Kontexten, Situationen und Bereichen, insbesondere in den Medien (v.a. in Radio, Fernsehen, Internet) und im Wissenstransfer (u.a. im Bereich medizinische Kommunikation, Prävention). Vor dem theoretischen Hintergrund von Soziolinguistik, Pragmatik und Gesprächsanalyse liegt der Akzent auf der Verwendung des Französischen in der Interaktion .Angesichts der Mehrsprachigkeit der meisten frankophonen Staaten Afrikas spielen dabei auch Fragen des Sprach- und Kulturkontakts eine wichtige Rolle, die auch aus einer kontrastiven Perspektive heraus erforscht werden